01 Feb 2017

Australia Day Honours


Alexander Baykitch (ON 1982) – ONU President.

For significant service to the law in the field of international commercial arbitration, and to professional legal organisations.

President, Australian Centre for International Commercial Arbitration, since 2014 and Vice-President, 2007-2014 and Board Member, prior to 2007 and Fellow, current.Service includes:

Principal/Senior Partner, King and Wood Mallesons, since 2012.
Partner and Office Head, (Sydney), Holman Fenwick Willan, 2009-2012.
Principal/Senior Partner, Blake Dawson, 2003-2009 and Solicitor, 1998-2002.
Solicitor, Norton Smith and Co, 1991-1998.

Member, Australian Government Delegation, United Nations Commission on International Trade Law, (UNCITRAL) Working Group on Arbitration, since 2005.
Member, Arbitration Panel, ICC International Court of Arbitration, current and past Delegate, ICC Arbitration Commission, and Member, New York Convention Task Force.
Member, Expert List, Panel of Recognised International Market Experts in Finance (P.R.I.M.E. Finance, international arbitration centre), since circa 2012.
Member, Arbitration Panel, Korean Commercial Arbitration Board, current.
Member, Arbitration Panel, China Maritime Arbitration Commission, current.
Member, Arbitration Panel, Singapore International Arbitration Centre, current.

Member, Law Society of New South Wales, since 1990.

Author, ‘Arbitration Law of Australia: Practice and Procedure’, 2012 and co-author, Australian Chapter, ‘World Arbitration Reporter’.

“When I received the letter about my nomination, I nearly jumped out of my skin, I could hardly believe it. I was joyful and humbled to be honoured like this” said Alex Baykitch.

“I will celebrate with my wife, family and friends by having a quiet drink” he said.

He felt his involvement in participating in the UN Commission on International Law in the development of model laws in relation to global arbitration was one of the most interesting things he has worked on. “Being part of something big is exciting” he said.


Dr Donald Hector (ON 1967) – Former Member of College Council.

For significant service to science in the field of chemical engineering, and to business.

Service includes:

University of Sydney: President, Chemistry Foundation, current.

Board Member, Faculty of Engineering Advisory Board, 1998-2012.

President, Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering Foundation, 1992-1998 and Council Member, 1992-2011.

Royal Society of New South Wales: President, 2012-2016.

Editor, Journal and Proceedings of the Royal Society of New South Wales, 2010- 2012.

Member, Science Advisory Council, University of New South Wales, current.

Chair, Institution of Chemical Engineers in Australia, 2000-2001.

Member, Engineers Australia, since1978; Fellow, 1997.

Non-Executive Director, Engenco, 2006-2016.

Managing Director, Dow Corning, 1992-1998.

Managing Director, Asia Pacific Speciality Chemicals, 1998-2001.

Board Member, Newington College Council, 2001-2014.


Mr Phillip Kearns (ON 1984) – Former Wallaby Captain.

For significant service to the community through support for charitable organisations, to business, and to rugby union at the elite level.

Service includes:

Supporter, Humpty Dumpty Foundation, since 2001.

Instigator, ‘Balmoral Burn’ Charity Run’, since 2001. The event has raised significant funds for children’s hospitals throughout Australia Children’s Cancer Institute Australia. Director, 2002-2015. Supporter, since 2001.

Crew Member, Investec Loyal, Sydney-Hobart Yacht Race participant fundraising the Loyal Foundation, since 2009.

Supporter, Driveway Safety Campaign, 2005.

Managing Director, InterRISK Australia, since 2015.

Chief Executive Officer, Centric Wealth, 2011-2014.

Executive Officer, Investec Bank, until 2011.

Captain, Wallabies Australian Rugby Union team on 10 occasions and Team Member and holder of 67 Caps, 1989-1999 and Rugby World Cup Winner, 1999 and 1991. Sports Commentator, Fox Sports, current.





Dr Gregory Fulcher (ON 1968)

For service to medicine, and to medical administration.

Service includes:

Royal North Shore Hospital: Director, Department of Diabetes, Endocrinology and Metabolism, 1999-2015.

Senior Staff Specialist in Endocrinology, since 1993.

Clinical Associate in Endocrinology, 1991-1993.

Clinical Superintendent, 1990.

Chair, Priority Advisory Committee, 2006-2007.

Member of a range of committees including:

Research Advisory Committee, 2011 Food and Nutrition Group, 2008-2009 Clinical Reference Group 2007-2009 Campus Redevelopment Committee 2006-2008.

Northern Sydney Local Health District: Clinical Director, Chronic and Complex Medicine, 2011.

Chair, Diabetes MOC Implementation Committee, since 2015.

ACI Liaison, 2014-2015.

Clinical Lead Integrated Care, since 2014.

Chair, Clinical Council, 2013-2015.

Northern Sydney Central Coast Area Health Service: Chair, Diabetes Network, 2009-2012 Member, Health Advisory Council (AHAC), 2005-2010.

Member, Clinical Council, since 2013.

Visiting Medical Officer, General Medicine/Endocrinology: North Shore Private Hospital, since 1993.

Manly District Hospital, 1993-2004.

Sydney Adventist Hospital, 1993-2004.

Mater Misericordia Hospital, 1993-2004.

Clinical Professor of Medicine, Northern Clinical School, University of Sydney, since 2006.

Chief Medical Officer, Bioatrix, since 2011.

Member, Clinical Advisory Committee, Agency for Clinical Innovation (ACI), 2011.

Board Member, Biomed North, 2011-2013.

Member, Governance Committee, Greater Metropolitan Clinical Taskforce (GMCT), 2007-2010 and Member, Steering Committee, Endocrinology Network, 2008-2011.

Invited speaker at over 30 international scientific meetings, 1955-1970.

More than 130 book chapters, publications and research articles.

University Affiliated Postgraduate Teaching, Post Graduate Committee of Medicine (PGCM) 1990-1995.

Member, Courses and Programs Sub-committee (PGCM) and Course Convener, 1990-1995.

Internal Medicine Course, 1990-1995.

Medical Professional Assessors, 1990-1995.

Councillor of the Australian Post-Graduate Federation, 1990-1995.

Registrar training: Long and Short Case Examiner, since 1993.

Supervisor, Advanced Trainee in Endocrinology, since 1993.

Term Supervisor, Basic Trainee during Endocrine Rotation, since 1993.

Endocrinology Tutorial Programme at RNSH, Coordinator, 1993-2003.

Assistant Examiner for the Basic Physician Examination (FRACP) Clinical Superintendent, 1990-1991.

Senior Medical Registrar, 1987 Professional Associations Australian Diabetes Society (ADS) and Director 2005-2009 and Council Member, 1996-1998.


Mrs Skye Leckie (wife of Mr David Leckie (ON 1968)

For service to the community through fundraising and charitable support roles.

Service includes:

Sydney Children’s Hospital Foundation: Chair, 2006-2011. Board Member, 1998-2011.

Chair, Gold Dinner Committee, 2001-2008 and Committee Member, 1998-2010 and Gold Dinner Ambassador, 2011-2015.

Established the Sydney Development Committee (fundraising), Australian Childhood Foundation, since 2013.

Patron and Governor, Taronga Zoo Foundation, since 2000.

Board Member, Sydney Theatre Company, 2012-2013.

Fundraising Committee Member, Chris O’Brien’s Lifehouse, 2010-2013.